## PANCHAYAT GENERAL ELECTIONS

## PRESS NOTE

**Panchkula, the 6<sup>th</sup> June, 2010** : Sh.Dharam Vir , State Election Commissioner, Haryana announced that as per the time schedule issued by the State Election Commission, Haryana, the votes for the offices of 20334 Panches, 2083 Sarpanches, 938 Member Panchayati Samitis and 128 Members Zila Parishads in the 75 blocks of 13 districts i.e. Ambala, Bhiwani, Fatehabad, Faridabad, Jind, Jhajjar, Kaithal, Kurukshetra, Mahendergarh at Narnaul, Sirsa, Sonepat, Mewat at Nuh and Palwal were polled today i.e. 06.06.2010. For these elections 6590 Polling Stations were set up and total 32577 Polling Personals were put on duty for these elections. The polling was peaceful by and large except a few stray incidents in Palwal, Mewat, Fatehabad, Bhiwani and Jhajjar Districts.

2. The State Election Commission had appointed senior IAS officers as Election Observer in every district. To maintain law and order position about 29536 police personals were also appointed. To keep over all check on the polling process 444 Supervisory teams and 341 Magistrates were also appointed. The polling started at 7.30 A.M. and concluded at 4.00 P.M. Some incidents of minor quarrel, breaking and taken away of EVMs, torning of ballot papers etc. have been reported from Village Govara of district Palwal, Village Santor and Gothra of district Bhiwani, Village Bhambhewa, Panchayat Samiti Beri of district Jhajjar and Villages Chhayasa of Panchayat Samiti Hathin, Andhop of Panchayat Samiti Hodal, Sondh and Dakhora of Panchayat Samiti Hodal, District Palwal. The preliminary reports suggests that the overall percentage of polling saturd 70%. The exact percentage of polling would be known after return of polling parties.

3. The counting of votes for the offices of Sarpanches and Panches of Gram Panchayats has started at polling stations after the close of poll and counting of votes of Member Panchayat Samiti and Zila Parishad would be held on 14.06.2010 at 8.00 A.M.

4. As per preliminary reports there may be repoll on about 80 Polling Stations in District Mewat, Palwal, Faridabad, Jhajjar and Bhiwani. The exact No. of Polling Stations where the repoll is to be announced will be determined after the reports are received from the concerned Deputy Commissioners-cum-District Election Officers (Panchayat).